top of page

Why I Decided to Start an African American Genealogy Consulting Firm

From the first time that I had a conversation with my Aunt Willie Faye Keeton- Hatcher about my family history, I knew that I wanted to find as many ancestors that I could in my lifetime. I have been doing the work since 2011, and have succeeded beyond measure in my journey. Earlier this year, I decided to open up my services to others that are also seeking the same type of information,

Through the process of figuring out a name and tagline I came up with: African American Vintage Genealogy | A consulting service designed to help novice and intermediate researchers enhance their genealogical journey. ...Curating family memories for generations to come. And, the rest is history!

African American Vintage Genealogy is and will be a premier resource for patrons that are interested in learning more about their family history in an intimate space without pressure to only use my service as their go-to-cause, but be a factor that they always want to have the opportunity to use at any stage during your journey.

African American Vintage Genealogy offers an array of services including monthly workshops, one-on-one sessions, a quarterly print-digital newsletter, and library short courses and genealogy curation for special projects. All services are available for a nominal fee and can be booked at your convenience thru our website platform.

There is not time like now to starting your family history project. To become acquainted with what we do at African American Vintage Genealogy, check out our ongoing family history project entitled: Genealogy Notes: The Southern Migration of the Keeton and Chafer Family.

Share feedback with us about anything genealogy related here: aavintagegenealogy@gmail.com.

We look forward to crafting your genealogy ideas into reality.

bottom of page